The Wheel of Time by <span class="author">Robert Jordan</span>

The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan

"The Wheel of Time" is a high fantasy book series written by Robert Jordan (a pen name for James Oliver Rigney Jr.). The series consists of fourteen books and is known for its expansive world-building, intricate plotlines, and diverse cast of characters.

Plot Overview:

The series is set in the fictional world of Randland and follows the destinies of various characters as they become embroiled in a battle between light and darkness. The central prophecy known as the "Wheel of Time" foretells the struggle between the Dragon Reborn, who will save the world, and the Dark One, who seeks to destroy it.

The story begins with "The Eye of the World," where three young villagers from the Two Rivers—Rand al'Thor, Mat Cauthon, and Perrin Aybara—discover that they are linked to the prophecies. As they embark on a perilous journey, they encounter Aes Sedai (powerful magic users), Ogier (giant-like beings), and other fantastical elements.

Throughout the series, the narrative expands to include multiple perspectives from different characters, including Egwene al'Vere, Nynaeve al'Meara, and others. The battle between good and evil, as well as the intricacies of politics, magic, and cultures, is explored in depth.


  1. Fate and Prophecy: The theme of destiny and the fulfillment of prophecies plays a significant role as characters grapple with their roles in the grand scheme of events.
  2. Power and Corruption: The use of magic, or the One Power, can be corrupting, and characters must navigate the ethical and moral implications of wielding it.
  3. Gender Dynamics: The division of power and magic between genders is a recurring theme, as male and female characters have different relationships with the One Power.
  4. Identity and Self-Discovery: Many characters undergo personal journeys of self-discovery, learning about their own abilities and potential.
  5. Complex Political Intrigue: The series delves into the intricacies of political alliances, rivalries, and power struggles among different nations and factions.


"The Wheel of Time" series has been influential in the fantasy genre, known for its scope and depth. It has garnered a dedicated fan base and has influenced subsequent fantasy authors. Tragically, Robert Jordan passed away before completing the series. Brandon Sanderson was enlisted to finish the final three books based on Jordan's notes. The series concluded with "A Memory of Light." Despite its complexity and length, "The Wheel of Time" remains a cornerstone of modern high fantasy, offering readers a vast and immersive world to explore.

Show Comments: OR